Crossroads of America: Early Indiana History


Named for Revolutionary War hero General Nathaniel Greene.

click and zoom to Our Neighbors Map

A Few Facts About Greene County
  • Greene County is divided into 15 Civil Townships as follows: Beech Creek, Cass, Center, Fairplay, Grant, Highland, Jackson, Jefferson, Richland, Smith, Stafford, Stockton, Taylor, Washington and Wright.
  • Greene County was organized effective February 5, 1821. 
  • Bloomfield has not always been the County Seat.
    • The first County Seat was located at Burlington. The locating commissioners had selected this site March 10, 1821, and Thomas Bradford, Frederick Shepherd and Zebulon Hogue had donated the land. It became necessary to relocate in 1824 for the reason that an adequate supply of water was not obtainable at this point. At this time, not a vestige remains of this former County Seat. 
    • Peter C. Van Slyke, a wealthy landowner, offered to donate the land for the location of a County Seat, which the commissioners accepted, and Bloomfield came into being. The first sale of lots was set for April 22, 1824, and a log Court House built that summer of "hewed logs, 26 by 20 feet, one story and a half high, with one door and one window, with twelve lights in it (8 by 16) in the lower story, with a good poplar plank floor ... to be covered with shingles" was in use; by 1849 the town of Bloomfield had a population of about 200 inhabitants.
  • According to the Society of Indiana Pioneers, an individual was a pioneer of our county if they resided here on or before December 31, 1830.
  • Indiana automobile License Plates issued in Greene County start with the prefix 28 because it is the twenty-eighth county in alphabetical listing.
Do you know something we don't show?
If you know an interesting fact that we've missed, please click here to submit it!

For more information about Greene Co. visit our Links